Crocheted Granny Square Sampler project

Granny square samplerThis is something I’ve been working on for the past month. It’s a brilliant project I found on the Wisecraft blog – the Granny Square Sampler Afghan project. It’s a crochet-along project which started much earlier in the year and I’m playing catch up.

I love this project because I have a slight obsession with granny squares at the moment, and following this makes you learn different ones as you go along. I’ve liked all of them so far and not found them too tricky. I’m currently on week 9 which is a gorgeous three dimensional flower square and it’s my favourite so far.

I’m purposefully not following any colour scheme but keeping it all as random as possible. So it’s a bit of a colour explosion and not very co-ordinated. I’m finding that not thinking about the colours too much is helping me find some surprise combinations which work well together.

These photos show the progress, I think I’m about halfway through now.

Granny square sampler

Granny square sampler

Granny square sampler

Granny square sampler

Granny square sampler

Granny square sampler

Granny square sampler

Once I’ve finished making all the squares they’ll be sewn together into a blanket which I can’t wait to do!

About Emily

Part-time working mum, writer, blogger and dreamer and maker of things.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Crochet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Crocheted Granny Square Sampler project

  1. Merry says:

    Oh I just love this. My mad colour explosion knitted blanket worked out brilliantly and I was so pleased with it. Am very tempted to try this :)

    • Emily says:

      Thank you. It’s nice to go mad with colours isn’t it? I sometimes find sticking to a scheme a bit resrictive. You should give it a go, it’s not complicated.

  2. This is lovely. I’m very tempted by the granny squares. Do they take long to do? I’m very into my drawing at the moment, so am wary of cutting in to drawing time too much, but wouldn’t mind maybe spending 30-45 minutes a night on something like this.

    • Emily says:

      It depends how well you know crochet Tasha, I’d say each one takes about 40 minutes although if I were a beginner it would be twice that I think. I’m currently working on a three dimensional flower one which takes a bit longer as it’s slightly more fiddly. But I do like squares because you can do each one fairly quickly. I never have hours of time!

      • Tasha Goddard (WAHM-BAM!) says:

        I haven’t done any since I was a kid and don’t remember at all! They all look so lovely, though. I may ask my mother-in-law to teach me when she’s down before Christmas – she’s a bit of a whizz with a crochet hook (if that’s what it’s called, even). I think doing a square a night would be nice. Though, I’m fast filling up those hours I have after the girls are asleep!

      • Emily says:

        Definitely ask your mother-in-law for a quick refresher lesson and it might come back to you. How-to videos on You Tube are really useful too. I know what you mean about finding the time though, I’ve got a lot of unfinished projects sitting about!

  3. Pingback: Finished granny square sampler crochet blanket | The Biscuit Cupboard

  4. I’m extremely inspired along with your writing abilities and also with the format in your blog. Is this a paid subject matter or did you customize it your self? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is uncommon to peer a great weblog like this one nowadays..

Leave a Reply

