Crochet hats

crochet hatI’ve been wanting to crochet a hat for a while and when I saw this hat pattern on Attic24 I decided to give it a go. It coincided with a £10 loyalty voucher I earnt at my local yarn shop for spending lots of money there and that meant I could buy some decent yarn for the hat too.

I made my hat in Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino, olive colour.

crochet hat

The pattern is easy to follow, and I enjoyed putting in the two stripes.

crochet hat

After the stripes I put in a few more rows and then realised something unfortunate had happened.

crochet hat

The hat was two big for my head! This was either because I have a small head (which I know I have) or I didn’t quite follow the pattern exactly enough (the most likely explanation).

So I was left with two choices: unravel what I’d done and start again or try and adapt the hat to fit my head. I decided to adapt the pattern and started decreasing in each row. The result was a beanie style hat which I’m fairly happy with.

I then decided the hat needed something to brighten it up, so I followed the pattern for a layered flower which Lucy at Attic24 made for her hat. And this was my flower which I was very happy about.

crochet flower

I added a button to the flower, threaded some coloured yarn between the stripes, sewed on the flower and this is the finished hat!

crochet hat

Here it is on my head.

crochet hat

I’m really pleased with it, the yarn is lovely and it’s really warm. It’s the first hat I’ve made so now I’ve got lots of ideas for making the next one. After finishing it, I had the hat bug and began to crochet a hat for my three year old daughter modifying Lucy’s original pattern slightly. I loved using all these colours.

crochet hat

And when I finished the hat, did my daughter want to wear it? No. Even though she helped choose the colours. So here’s the finished hat modelled on my hand.

crochet hat

My daughter will probably decide to wear it when her head’s grown and the hat’s too small. But never mind, it was fun to make.

About Emily

Part-time working mum, writer, blogger and dreamer and maker of things.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crochet hats

  1. calmyourbeans says:

    Reblogged this on calmyourbeans.

  2. Lovely. I’ve just started teaching myself how to crochet, I think I’m a little way of a hat yet though.

  3. PerfHappyMum says:

    Very lovely! So that’s where you are hiding! I kept getting the wrong babyramble feed. Glad I found you :)

Leave a Reply

