Flower motif granny square

granny square flower motifI came across this granny square and really liked its floral look, but I couldn’t find a pattern for it. So I pinned it on Pinterest and then tried to work out the pattern myself. I don’t know if what I’ve come up with is exactly the same but it looks similar to the picture I found so I’m happy.

Here’s the pattern if you’d like to give it a go. Looking at the square now, I wish I’d used a different colour for the first round – to create a flower centre. I’ll try that next time I make it. I think you could make a lovely afghan blanket with lots of these, maybe mixed in with some granny squares of different designs or sizes. I think subtle colours would look lovely too, I picked some very bold ones for mine.

There’s a variety of stitches in this square which makes it quite fun to make. I’ve tried to explain cluster stitch here and the video I’ve linked to might help explain it better.

I do hope this pattern makes sense. If you spot a mistake let me know or if you have any questions about it please leave a comment and I’ll get back to you.

I used a 4.5mm hook and DK Stylecraft yarn.

UK terms:
ss = slip stitch
ch = chain
dc = double crochet
htr = half treble
tr = treble
dtr = double treble
cl = cluster

How to make a cluster (cl):

* yarn round hook (yrh), push hook through stitch, draw loop through, yrh, pull through 2 loops * repeat from * to * twice more, then yrh and pull through all four loops left on hook. If it helps, there’s a video on cluster stitch here.

Chain 4, join with a ss to make a loop

Round 1: 2 ch (counts as one stitch), 11 htr into loop, ss to second chain (12 stitches in total)

Round 2: 2 ch (counts as one stitch), 1 htr into same stitch, 2 htr into each htr, ss into second chain (24 stitches in total)

Round 3: 1 dc, 6 ch, miss 2 st, *1 dc, 6 ch, miss 2 st* – repeat from * to * for the whole round. You should have eight 6 chain loops by the end of it. Ss into first dc you made in this round

Round 4: *9tr into 6 ch space, ss into dc* repeat from * to * for whole round to make eight petals, ss into ss at the end of last round, fasten off colour

Round 5: join in new colour to fifth tr of any of the petals. (3ch * yarn round hook (yrh), push hook through stitch, draw loop through, yrh, pull through 2 loops * repeat from * to * once more), 1 ch, 1 cluster into same stitch, 2 ch, 1 dtr into dc of round 3, 2 ch, *(1 cl, 1 ch, 1 cl) into 5th tr of petal, 2 ch, 1 dtr into dc on round 3, 2 ch* repeat until end of round, ss into third chain, fasten off colour.

Round 6: join in new colour in any 1ch space between clusters. 3 ch, 2 tr, 2ch, 3 tr into same space, 3 tr into 2 ch space, 3 htr into 2 ch space, 3dc into 1ch space between cluster, 3 htr into 2 ch space, 3 tr into 2ch space, *(3 tr, 2 ch, 3 tr) into 1 ch space between cluster, 3 tr into 2 ch space, 3 htr into 2 ch space, 3dc into 1ch space between cluster, 3 htr into 2 ch space, 3 tr into 2ch space* repeat from * to * twice more, ss into third chain. Fasten off and weave in ends.

granny square flower motif

About Emily

Freelance writer and author. And eater of chocolate.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Flower motif granny square

  1. Tami says:

    having trouble with round 5, I’ve tried it several times, can’t get it to look right. Any suggestions? I am being careful to translate into US since you’re using UK directions.

    • Emily says:

      Hi Tami, sorry for the delay in replying. This is a tricky round as it uses the cluster stitch, I’ve found a good video which demonstrates it on YouTube here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nzW77bU6pm8. The dtr stitch is triple crochet (trc) in US terms although you’ve probably worked that one out already. Hope this helps!

  2. I am sure this article has touched all the
    internet users, its really really fastidious article on building up new website.

  3. title says:

    Wow, that’s what I was looking for, what a material!

    existing here at this weblog, thanks admin of this website.

Leave a Reply

